Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am broken and belittled-

I reach, yet then I fall.

 

I wonder where the wind will take us- 

I used to never care at all.

 

I hear the beatings, I hear their tears-

I have since open my port-holed ears.

 

I see the hope in those glazed over eyes-

I know the sight of their corpses surrounded by flies.

 

I am broken and belittled-

I reach, yet then I fall.

 

I worry for those enslaved within me

I shrug with the tossing of the tides.

 

I cry salt back into the waters-

I do not stop to wipe my eyes.

 

I say to stop this cruelty-

I am never heard.

 

I am broken and belittled-

I reach, yet then I fall.

 

I dream of nothing but my nightmares-

I live my nightmares too.

 

I hope to dock, to see them freed-

I notice my “impracticality.”

 

I am broken and belittled-

I reach, yet then I fall.

