Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I love you every other day of the week

You love me the days in between

My days begin on a Monday

You love me beginning Tuesday and

continue on my days off, when I’m sleeping

I sleep when you love

And love when you sleep

You love when I sleep

And sleep when I love

This way, there is an equal sleep to love ratio in our relationship

(I know nothing of ratios, or anything even remotely to do with math really, but this does seem systematic and fair)

We’d be exhausted otherwise!

We’d never sleep!

We’d discuss the scent of wet pine needles, children’s smile creases on their birthdays, and constellations we cannot name

All day and night long

To love that way would not be productive

So we do not tell one another we love

Well

Sometimes

I do whisper when you are sleeping

And wonder if you dream of me.

